top of page

"BLEEDING FROM THE HEART"


Scripture: Romans 13:10; 1 John 4:7; Romans 12:9

My husband and I live in a well-established neighborhood of people that resemble the United Nations. We come from all backgrounds, demographics and ethnic groups. However, there is one family that sticks out in our neighborhood like a sore thumb! You see, this family is not like the other families on our street. They are very messy, I mean, MESSY!! They have a kind of "junkyard" thing going. In our carefully manicured lawns that engulf our neighborhood, you will find this one family that resembles Sanford and Sons. Only on few occasions, my family and I have initiated a small dialogue with this family. Whereas, our other neighbors have kept a great distance from them. And on a few occasions, from the initiated efforts of our neighbors, this family has had the police and city called on them to clean up their debris on their property. On my part, I had a curiosity about them. I took it upon myself to get to know them and in hope to witness to them or at least bring them to my church's website to minister to them. So, in my "pastoral mode," I have had small dialogues with them. Nothing heavy, but at least they know someone cares for them. But, this Christmas Eve, there was a great challenge for this family. A challenge for them because the tragedy came to visit them. A challenge for me, because the Lord used this situation to teach me about REAL brotherly love. A challenge for our neighbors, because they had to be shown their prejudice and separatist behavior that needed to be changed. You see, this Christmas Eve, I was wrapping my presents in my living room and I heard from my window a faint call for "help." At first, I thought it was my husband listening to the tv in his incoherent way. You know? When the volume is turned up so high you wonder if he needs a hearing aid. However, I did smell sulfur and the cries became louder and louder. So, I went outside and there was my neighbor! Outside hovered over her husband, who was not breathing and the house engulfed in flames! I called out to my family and we rushed to them. We did call 911, however, they were already on the way. I rushed to my neighbor's side just about to do CPR on her husband but "PRAISE THE LORD JESUS CHRIST!" The paramedic came just in time! I stayed by my neighbor's side and start praying in the Holy Spirit. You see, even though the paramedics were working on him, they still could not find a pulse. So, I called out to my family to all start praying in the Holy Spirit and claim life in and over my neighbor's husband. This is no lie! It was going on for over 45 minutes until the last "In Jesus Name, the devil you take your hands off this man!" That we actually saw my neighbors husband's chest rise up and down! I am typing this blog holding back my tears because of the memory of how sovereign God is towards us even when we are so dirty living in our humanity! Our Father is SO great! SO forgiving! SO loving! So, why don't we see it more with one another? You see, after all this ordeal, NOT one of my neighbors came out to help. No, not one! They were inside, peeping from their doors safely tucked in their homes, looking out like this was a Netflix show. All I could do is feel anger! "Oh!" How our HUMANITY!! Has FAILED!! Us so! The sad part of this story, the next morning, I saw one of my neighbors outside. They greeted me with a sly smile on their face just to let me know that they were happy that this family lost their home. Because they don't have to see the messy junkyard anymore. This sickened my stomach to the core! However, there is an upside to this story! The family may have lost their home, but, they came out with their lives. They got to know that there is someone who cares and that the Lord is one whisper away! We have so much in Jesus Christ! And, some have so very little not known His love! However, as you come to the end of this story, who do you really think has the "MUCH." And, who do think have the "LITTLE." Think about it! Amen!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page